Pimp My Bike

Amsterdam’s most common crime is stealing bikes, the second most common is selling stolen property – the stolen bikes.

So one way that you can tell a real Amsterdammer is by asking how many locks they have on their bike. The correct answer is three. When I bought my locks the shopkeeper asked me what sort of locks I wanted “Amsterdam locks” I answered. He gave me two heavy fat chains and charged me about the same as I’d paid for the bike.

But some creative people protect their bike by giving it a distinctive look; pimping it. This one lives around the corner from me, and I think it’s cool that even the baby seat is blue. I’ve also seen a black and yellow stripy-bee bike, and several floral versions. It has the added advantage that you can find your bike in the bike parking lot.

Leave a Reply

