Book City

I spent the afternoon wandering around the World Book Market (wereldboekenmarkt in Dutch) making fairly random purchases, some fiction, one book on art and a recipe book covered in a cotton tartan (Stewart I think) with Scottish recipes presented in English and Dutch.

The market was along about 4km of the city’s canals and was part of the Amsterdam World Book Capital Year.

Some books I didn’t buy – Casanova’s memoirs in six volumes.
The market was right around the Stadhuis (Town Hall) and Waterlooplein
… along St Antoniesbreestraat, where it was mainly publishers and where I picked up a “damaged” book for 2 euro. I haven’t yet found the damage, maybe there’s a vital page missing and I won’t know until I read it.
Outside the Pinto library was the library rat, or rather Geronimo Stilton – kids were getting their photo taken with him.
Bol.com were promoting themselves with simple big balloons and small giveaway balloons announcing that they also sell second hand books.
The prettiest part of the market was along the Gelderskade.

The city wasn’t crowded, and I did hear from one of the stall holders that it hadn’t been that well promoted – I haven’t seen much in the way of posters or ads so he might be right. Made it a pleasure for me though, I’m not good in big crowds. Now I’m off to read my books.

Leave a Reply

