World’s Biggest Picnic

“What are you doing on your day off?” asked a colleague

“As close to nothing as possible” I answered “how about you?”

“I’m going to the World’s Biggest Picnic”

Tomorrow, 21 May is Hemelvaartsdag (Ascension Day) and there will be a huge picnic in VondelPark, when I say huge it’s apparently an attempt on a Guinness world record.

Picture 16Apparently the same thing happens every year, I’ve been living in Amsterdam for about a decade and I never knew. Kinda cool that this city can still throw a surprise my way.

image from Stewart via flickr

One thought on “World’s Biggest Picnic

Leave a Reply

