Queen’s Day countdown

With less than a week to go everyone’s getting ready for Queen’s day. I saw huge supplies of beer in Albert Heijn yesterday, I suspect that because Queen’s Day falls on a Friday some people are planning to make a loooooonnnnnggggg weekend of it.

My plans? I’ve avoided it for the last two years but this year I’ll be here in Amsterdam. I’m planning to wander around the vrijemarkt (fleamarket) in the Jordaan and might make my way down to Vondelpark. The park is designated for children to set up stalls, which I think is a great idea from the city.

Incidentally it’s not necessary to come to Amsterdam for Queen’s Day anymore – the Dutch Embassy in the UK sponsors a Queen’s Day event in London. The only problem is, they had it last weekend.

There’s a detailed guide to events of the day on the I amsterdam site.

One thought on “Queen’s Day countdown

Leave a Reply

