Signs of Winter – Saturday Market

Signs of Winter - Saturday Market

I’m cheating slightly with this photo, it’s not from the market but from a shop on the street between the markets on the Noordermarkt and the Lindengracht. I love the juxtaposition of the boerenkool and the clogs. Very Dutch!

The first time I had boerenkool here I didn’t know what it was called in English, and I was pretty sure I hadn’t eaten it before. I looked it up in the dictionary and found out that in English it’s called kale. I still don’t think I ate it before I came here.

Leave a Reply

