National Tulip Day

Today is National Tulip Day, I didn’t know it existed, I guess I thought every day was Tulip day in this country!

The day is celebrated by a large artwork created out of tulips on the Dam Square, I was there earlier today to see it being set up.  This  afternoon people will be able to walk among the tulips and pick their own – making it the ultimate ephemeral artwork.

As I stood on the bridge looking down on the tulips the guy next to me asked me if it was supposed to be a map of the Netherlands – it’s not but I could see that more easily in the pattern than the intended art; tulips are a tough medium.

One thought on “National Tulip Day

Leave a Reply

